Kacha and Devayani

Published on by S.Kamakshi



Kacha, Devayani and Sukkracharya


Brihaspathi was the son of Angirasa. He was the guiding spirit of devas. The asuras who are the opponent of devas relied on their Guru Sukkaracharya. There was a bitter struggle between the devas and asuras.

Sukkracharya possessed the secret of Sanjivini, which could recall the dead to life. Their Guru brought the asuras who had fallen in the battle back to life. The devas went to Kacha, the son Brihaspathi and begged him to win his way into the grace of Sukracharya and pursuade him to be his pupil. The idea was to get the secret of Sanjivini. Kacha agreed and went to Vrishaparva, the capital city of Sukracharya. After due salutation he said to Sukracharya, "I am Kacha, grandson of Angiras. I am a bachelor and want to be your pupil." Sukracharya said, " I accept you as my pupil as you belong to a good family." Kacha spent many years under Sukracharya. Sukracharya had a beautiful daughter. Her name was Devayani. Kacha devoted himself to pleasing and serving her with song and dance and pastime. When asuras came to know of this, they suspected that Kacha's intention was somehow to get the secret of Sanjivini. When Katcha was engaged in grazing the cattle the asuras took him and tore him to pieces and threw his flesh to the dogs. As Kacha did not return even after sunset Devayani was anxious. She went to her father and said, "I fear some mishap has fallen on Kacha. I cannot live without him."

Sukracharya employed the art of Sanjivini. Kacha came back to life and told them the truth. On another occasion when Kacha went to forest to fetch flowers asuras killed him, and pounding his body to a paste and mixed it up in seawater. Sukracharya again brought Kacha back to life with Sanjivini. This time the asuras killed Katcha, burnt him, mixed the ashes in the wine and served it to Sukracharya. Once again Devayani pleaded with her father. Sukracharya said to her, "the asuras are bent upon killing Kacha. It is not proper for a wise girl like to sorrow at it." Devayani could not control her feelings. She began to fast. Sukracharya became very angry at the asuras. He once again employed Sanjivini and called Kacha to appear. He could not come out of the body of Sukracharya and he could only answer to his name. Sukracharya exclaimed, " How did you get into me? If this is the work of the asuras, it makes me feel killing the asuras immediately and joining the devas. Tell me the story." Kacha narrated the story. Sukracharya became angry at the deceit practiced on him in his wine. He said to his daughter, ´For Katcha to live, he must tear my stomach and come out of it. His life can be bought by my death." Devayani began to cry. She said, 'if either of you die, I shall also die." Sukracharya said to Katcha. "You came with the object of getting the secret of Sanjivini. I will impart the knowledge of Sanjivini to you. After you come out of my body you can bring me back to life. Sukracharya imparted the art of Sanjivini.Katcha came out of the body of Sukracharya. Katcha at once brought Sukracharya to life. Kacha bowed down to Sukracharya and said. "The teacher who imparts wisdom is a father. Besides as I have issued from your body you are my mother too." Devayani addressed to him. " I have loved you long. Please make me happy by marrying me."Kacha replied, " You are my master's daughter. I got back my life being born out of your father's body. Hence I am your brother. It is not proper to ask me to marry you." Devayani. Devayani said. " You are the son of Brahaspathi. I have always loved you as my husband." Kacha said. "Do not seek to persuade to unrighteousness. Pry bid me adieu." With these words Kacha disengaged himself and proceeded to the abode of Indra, the king of gods. Sukracharya consoled her daughter



To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post